check out option is available in all SharePoint
libraries. Use it when you want to prevent other users from:
seeing your changes in a file before
you are ready to show them.
editing the same file
as you are working with yourself.
A checked out file is locked for editing to everyone
else but the person who checked out the file, and
as long as this editor remembers to check in the file
again when he has finished editing the feature works
In the demo below Peter Kalmström, CEO and Systems
Designer of kalmstrom.com Business Solutions, shows how
you can check out and check in a file and how the file is
marked when checked out. Peter also explains how you can set check out to
mandatory before editing and discusses benefits and
drawbacks of doing so.